SOG SEAL Pup Knife Review & Demo-Urban Survival


This is a review and demonstration on the SOG SEAL Pup knife. I’ve modified the sheath to make it into an urban survival knife by adding a fire steel rod, a sharpener, paracord, reflective and duct tape, and a fishing line and hook. This knife is light, balanced, and tough. The blade is made of AUS 6 S/S, which makes it hard to get a good edge in the field. That said, it maintains an edge better than my carbon blade knives. I’d recommend this knife to anyone looking for a decent camping/utility knife. A straight edge would be better for bushcraft, but for urban survival applications, the serrations will gnaw right through metals, plastics, nylons, and other synthetics with ease. The protective sheath and managable size make this a safe knife for all skill levels.

25 Comments on "SOG SEAL Pup Knife Review & Demo-Urban Survival"

  1. spellingGODbackwards | July 22, 2010 at 1:26 am |

    hrm…. a lot of shops say that the metal isnt “AUS 6” they say its “440A” Stainless.
    what do you know about it. I can’t choose between this and the gerber prodigy. Please help. :/ ..oh and what sharpener do you use?

  2. spellingGODbackwards | July 22, 2010 at 1:43 am |

    which sharpener do you use?
    (mean the little on your sheath)

  3. FlamingFury5 | July 22, 2010 at 2:12 am |

    your knife reviews are better than nutnfancy’s. all he does is lust over the sheaths for 10minutes. u actually show the knife cutting multiple things

  4. spellingGODbackwards | July 22, 2010 at 2:20 am |

    what kind of sharpener do you use and carry with your sogseal?
    I dont find any kind of speed sharpener that works? and dont turn my knife to a spoon. :/

  5. StringsCrusader | July 22, 2010 at 2:46 am |

    @Chatter107 it would also be the knife to have, if a tin can got stuck in you! lol

  6. spartanthree8 | July 22, 2010 at 3:12 am |

    where did you get the sheath i really want one like that but all i can find is the nylon one can you please help?

  7. @envirosponsible got mine from my bro who is a CCT “combat control” in the Air Force saved me 95 bucks has wear on it but its still in good condition and it is a good knife

  8. tasatasat | July 22, 2010 at 3:43 am |

    Is your knife dulled out? You’re just rubbing your thumb up and down the blade like nothing. I use to have this knife and it was razor sharp. One of the sharpes knives I’ve seen.

  9. DarkSeraphane | July 22, 2010 at 4:04 am |

    The lack of edge-retention may be due to sharpening method. A light diamond grit, held at the proper angle, should bring it to a lasting, razor’s edge. I’ve used mine extensively (lots of pruning infact), and I’ve not needed to hone the edge so far. I’ve had it for several months. I often polish the edge on the toe or heel of my leather boots, and it routinely pops hair like a barber’s razor. I use a fine-grit honing rod for both the fine edge and the serrations. Mine sees frequent use and abuse

  10. 2 words. shitty. steel. aus 8….. meh…..

  11. pablo81042 | July 22, 2010 at 5:43 am |

    nice knife…..where can i get one of those?

  12. 19countryboy71 | July 22, 2010 at 5:47 am |

    I like the mods. Did you cut out the side for cutting in the sheath your self? Also I noticed that the wood you split had a nail in it was it all the way thruogh where you cut it as well? Good vid

  13. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 6:22 am |

    @Chatter107 It would be THE knife to have if stuck inside a tin can.

  14. Chatter107 | July 22, 2010 at 6:28 am |

    This would be awesome to have if you ever get stuck inside a tin can.

  15. chevygearhead454 | July 22, 2010 at 7:10 am |

    what kind of steel is that?

  16. FuzorDragon480 | July 22, 2010 at 7:20 am |

    Wered you get the sharpener?

  17. beholderlt | July 22, 2010 at 8:10 am |

    cool system, very nice modifications of the sheath! good job, i love it.

  18. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 8:37 am |

    @urkingod In all fairness I haven’t even tried the Elite. The version in this video is aus-6, and it will not take or hold an edge. I found it to be strong and durable, I just can’t get past the lack of edge retention. I also haven’t tried the ESEE knives, though I definitely will.

  19. Do you think this was more of a show knife than utility knife? especially since now you seems to like Cold Steel ? I got two of seal pup elite and love looking at them, hehehe. But not sure if I want to be thrashing on them. May be should I get cold steel or ESEE Rat 6 or something else?

  20. @envirosponsible I use mines to [x

  21. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 11:20 am |

    @dgl1962 I agree with you-serrations definitely have their advantages. No straight edge I’ve used will cut through synthetic material like serrations. Thanks for sharing your opinion.

  22. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 12:09 pm |

    @Hank41723 Frosts Mora, Cold Steel Finn Bear, other Cold Steel knives, SOG Pup, a good Buck folder. There are tons out there that will serve you well, ranging in price from $15 to $400.

  23. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 12:36 pm |

    @urkingod Ray Mears has a great video on knives.

  24. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 12:50 pm |

    @ther3dn3ck I like your username.

  25. envirosponsible | July 22, 2010 at 1:05 pm |

    @AzNBAoO You can keep your knives in a drawer to look at. I like to use mine. Thanks for commenting.

Comments are closed.