Hennessy Hammock Review and Demonstration envirosponsible


Thinking about buying a Hennessy Hammock? Check out this video review and demonstration for information that may help you make a decision on your purchase. Personally, I love their sleeping system. They’re lightweight, comfortable, easy to set up, and keep the person inside dry. That said, cold-weather camping can be challenging in a hammock. Similar to an icing bridge, wind that blows on the underside of the hammock rapidly cools the occupant’s backside. An air mattress is an easy remedy, and I’ve heard good things about under quilts. I highly recommend the Hennessy Hammock and will use one for my camping trips 3 seasons out of 4. hennessyhammock.com Please leave comments and feedback.

25 Comments on "Hennessy Hammock Review and Demonstration envirosponsible"

  1. Blaineeer | May 31, 2010 at 1:43 am |

    very nice place youre camping at

  2. we passed several places on the appy trail where they have been cut down–ropes still around the trees

  3. AKlegend10 | May 31, 2010 at 3:04 am |

    How cold did it get at night.

  4. i have an ultralight backpacker. its beautiful.

    the expedition seems more durable, thicker wire to hold weight, i wish the backpacker had the same strong cord that the expedition has, thats all.

  5. Make yourself a underquilt. Get some rip stop nylon and some down and make it like a sleep back then attach it to the underside of the hammock. The reason to do it on the outside is so you wont compress the quilt and lose the insulating properties.

  6. toounfazed | May 31, 2010 at 4:45 am |

    Sleeping the hammock is way better than sleeping on the hard ground. I’m an old lady and can hike for 25 miles a day as long as I have the hammock to sleep in at night. BUT, do take a thermarest or a closed cell pad to keep your bottom bits warm if it is cold. I use a three part sleep system with the hammock to use in three seasons: silk liner, Marmot Pounder sleeping bag, and an Adventure Medical bivvy sack. Mixing those items as needed covers most 3 season weather conditions.

  7. beeftothetaco123 | May 31, 2010 at 5:07 am |

    @muetter It dosn’t hurt at all! the hamock forms to your back and curvature witch makes it extremely comfortable

  8. piercedsquid | May 31, 2010 at 5:21 am |

    i don’t know about destroying it, but i imagine that the bottom entry would be a little difficult with it splayed out on the ground, and then you have to lay down and situate it so that the bug net is on top. if i had to go to ground with a hammock, i’d rather have a regular side entry. but i’ve not been able to break into hammocking yet myself.

  9. how many nights can you sleep in this hammock before your back starts to get sore? Or does it even cause soreness at all?

  10. envirosponsible | May 31, 2010 at 5:54 am |

    Thanks for the heads up.

  11. envirosponsible | May 31, 2010 at 6:23 am |

    I agree with you on all counts. We were canoeing and could afford the extra weight. I won’t use the Hennessy as a bivy since it might destroy the bottom. Thanks for commenting.

  12. You’re in freezing weather using a hammock and two blankets. Why not pile up layers of pine needles and bivy the hammock? Summertime, use it as a hammock. Nice vid but guys you’re packing too much stuff.

  13. sugemery here on you tube

    He is the hammock expert when it comes to it watch his videos and you will agree he is the king of winter hammock.

  14. tallon1138 | May 31, 2010 at 8:20 am |

    What kind of poncho are you using?

  15. check out DD Hammocks in GB great kit

  16. envirosponsible | May 31, 2010 at 8:53 am |

    Some people do use hammocks as bivy sacks, though I’ve never tried myself. Good question.

  17. oneraindog | May 31, 2010 at 9:52 am |

    what if you were to hang the hammock low enough so you actually rested on the ground. or pitched it using branches or poles? maybe it would be too hard to get into?

  18. envirosponsible | May 31, 2010 at 10:22 am |

    I know, I’ve looked at them on your website for a while now, the way I used to around Xmas when the Sears catalogue was delivered. The challenges I have are budget and bulk. Your winter system looks like it works very effectively though the price puts it out of my range. I already spent $180 plus tax on an ultralight. Also, the bulk of the kit is a concern. I’m experimenting with a sack that can go under the hammock and be stuffed with natural insulation, cardboard, clothing, etc.

  19. envirosponsible | May 31, 2010 at 10:25 am |

    Winter camping does work in a hammock-if you block the wind blowing under the hammock. Otherwise you’ll freeze up like a bridge in winter.

  20. hennessyhammock | May 31, 2010 at 11:19 am |

    we do have a complete 4 season system, see the hennessyhammock channel for more information

  21. oneraindog | May 31, 2010 at 12:01 pm |

    why only 3 seasons of 4? why wouldnt winter camping work with this?

  22. Great vid!

    You guys had a nice setup.

  23. woodlanduk | May 31, 2010 at 1:27 pm |

    learning the hard way is OK but dont take silly risks,being cold is ok for a night but not for a week you soon get a little P***ed off with it,but you live n learn great video…5/5

  24. sweetypie000 | May 31, 2010 at 2:21 pm |

    i chose a warbonnet blackbird cos hennessey are made in china now and people say the quality has gone down the crapper

  25. YouMockMe | May 31, 2010 at 2:25 pm |

    thanks for the review.

Comments are closed.