Frosts Mora Knife Review-Tip Failure


How will this Frosts Mora knife hold up to some hard use? Watch this review/demo to find out.

20 Comments on "Frosts Mora Knife Review-Tip Failure"

  1. envirosponsible | June 30, 2010 at 1:48 am |

    @HikingWA No real world application I can think of. I was just beating on it to see what would happen. I really do need to revise my test regime. I’ll be putting one head-to-head against the Cold Steel Finn Bear soon. Thanks.

  2. envirosponsible | June 30, 2010 at 2:38 am |

    @jntroisi You’re right. The knife wasn’t intended for stabbing and pyring. I think it’s a great knife still and would recommend one to any camper.

  3. Not surprising, but they’re not built to abuse like that. They’re designed as a good wood carver, and that they are, especially for the price.

  4. @frosty4700: Your fingers may not appreciate the bear-stabbing if you hit a bone. This particular model lacks any kind of guard, as it’s made for woodcrafting, not combat. (Though some Moras have a bit of a guard.)

  5. I can appreciate the tip strength test, but I’ve never been able to correlate stabbing a tip into wood and putting lateral pressure on it to a RL survival task. Sure, you use the tip for a lot of things, such as drilling into wood, or even felling a small tree by driving the knife in tip first. But you don’t apply any lateral pressure doing those things. Is there some survival task that’s not actually a non-knife task (which you may do, ofc) that I’m not thinking of, where this test applies?

  6. frosty4700 | June 30, 2010 at 4:51 am |

    This is a very deadly knife. If a bear or some big animal attacked me, I would use this MORA knife to stab it because it has very high penetration ability. I also own a classic KABAR knife, although the KABAR is tough, it is not a good “self defense” knife due to it’s tip curvature that gives it poor penetrating properties.

  7. gimping is outstanding …ghetto kind of cool

    WROL in the ghetto ?

  8. GardenJames | June 30, 2010 at 5:14 am |

    @playdrums can i get that order to go please ?

    I have a Frost River knife from MEC and it’s a good everyday knife for cutting up apple slices, opening packages and as a go to steak knife. Thanks for the review.

  9. Mrcaffinebean | June 30, 2010 at 5:47 am |

    Good review, I agree with all you said.

  10. bassfuryvi | June 30, 2010 at 6:17 am |

    @bassfuryvi rubbery !…not robbery ha ha

  11. bassfuryvi | June 30, 2010 at 7:07 am |

    @envirosponsible yep..the Finn Bear is a cool little blade,,I still prefer my Mora Clippers though as the robbery handles take the shock out of whacking better than the plastic diamond shaped CS..but it is so light you got to pack it anyway!

  12. envirosponsible | June 30, 2010 at 7:22 am |

    @tomfaranda Funny you should say…I’ll be uploading a few head to heads soon, including SOG Pup VS SRK and a few others. The Finn Bear definitely deserves a review. I’ve used one but it was a friend’s. I’ll buy one soon and beat on it.

  13. tomfaranda | June 30, 2010 at 8:18 am |

    Nice review. Results are not surprising. Would be interesting to do a similar test on the SOG field pup (I wouldn’t expect it to fail) or cold steel finn bear or roach belly. The CS knives are even cheaper than the mora; the field pup more expensive.

  14. envirosponsible | June 30, 2010 at 9:09 am |

    @marcooooo75 I’ll reshape the blade. I don’t know if I’ll keep it, but it is a good knife for the money. I just pushed it too hard for it’s intended purposes.

  15. envirosponsible | June 30, 2010 at 9:42 am |

    @playdrums Wow. There’s some mixed emotions there. Have you been able to see the video yet?

  16. RedJellyable | June 30, 2010 at 10:25 am |

    cheap and good light duty but not for survival.

  17. marcooooo75 | June 30, 2010 at 10:41 am |

    Will you fix the broken blade??? Or is it to cheap!!!

  18. Your video aint working. Envirosponsibe, I can’t wait to see your video.
    As for you YOUTUBE – suck my fat hairy cock and nibble the corn out of my fecal matter you SHIT WEBSITE!!! youtube sucks ass.
    But envirosponsible, i can’t wait to see the review!!!

  19. envirosponsible | June 30, 2010 at 12:02 pm |

    It’s laminated-a hard carbon core clad with milder steel. Thanks for asking.

  20. What type of blade is it? Carbon, Stainless, or Composite?

Comments are closed.